NYX | Haul

NYX has finally come to the UK. I repeat, NYX is now available in the UK.

My year was made when I first heard this amazing news because I was so sick (with jealousy) of hearing rave reviews of their products and not being able to get my hands on them. It was basically like dangling a carrot in front of a donkey, although it was me and unobtainable makeup products. But now, Boots.com (hopefully instores soon) & FeelUnique are stocking their products. Hallelujah! So there I was, ordering bits & bobs from their whole range, 6am in the morning. Here’s a haul of all the products I managed to pick up from my early morning shopping splurge.

388_origNYX Liquid Suede Lipstick in Sandstorm: If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you’ll know that I love a liquid lipstick. So with NYX coming to Boots.com, it would have been rude not to try one if their Liquid Suede Lipsticks. I’m loving Brown/Mauvey tones on my lips at the moment so Sandstorm screamed buy me and I happily obliged. This liquid lipstick is like no other, most can be drying on the lips as they set to a matte, however this is strangely moisturising and doesn’t crumble like some tend to do when you eat. The doe foot applicator is a real winner too as it is very precise when applying to the cupids bow. So if you’re wanting to dip your toe into the brown lipstick trend without breaking the bank, I highly highly recommend this.

606_orig
From L-R: Eyeshadow base, Prismatic Eyeshadow on top of Eyeshadow Base, Prismatic Eyeshadow alone

NYX Prismatic Eyeshadow in Bedroom Eyes: When I first put this on my eyelid, not only did the colour but the pigmentation blew me away. This eyeshadow has really surprised me with it’s quality and I cannot wait to try more of their Prismatic eyeshadows. It’s a stunning coppery, chestnut shadow with underlying shimmer, but not so much that you resemble Times Square. Hopefully they’ll start selling NYX instore soon so I can go and ogle all their products for hours on end.

NYX White Eyeshadow Base: I bought this out of intrigue as I haven’t come across anything similiar before and now it’s one of my go to products if I’m wearing shadow, which is most days. I wear eye primer anyway to help get the longest wear out my shadows, however using this as a base on top of my primer makes such a difference so much so I couldn’t quite believe it the first time I used it. Eyeshadows not only glide on top of this but if the product you are using has a sparkle or shimmer to it, it makes it all the more so pigmented.
NYX Pro Angled Liner Brush: This little odd looking brush has revolutionised my eyeliner routine and has on average cut the time I take to do it in half. I’ve seen many a blogger/youtuber use brushes similar to this one  but have never seen one to buy, so when I saw this from NYX, I snapped it up. I wasn’t expecting anything special before I used it and admittedly when I used it on one eye I thought it was just a fluke that my eyeliner had turned out so well, then I did the other eye and had the same result. I’m such a perfectionist when it comes to eyeliner (and pretty much everything else) so this is a Holy Grail product for me. If you struggle with eyeliner then I suggest picking this up, you won’t be disappointed.
911_origNYX Pro Blending Brush: This makes blending your eyeshadow out an absolute pleasure. Not only does it make a good crease brush but it’s also perfect for blending out above your crease and highlighting your browbone. If you’re looking for a do-it-all eye brush, I highly recommend this one. And for the price, you can’t go wrong.
NYX HD Finishing Powder: This powder is like silk on the skin. It’s so finally milled it just glides right on and huge bonus for me, it’s translucent – hurray for us pale girls! Be careful not to put too much on your brush at once as you will be left in a cloud of translucent powder, yes I do speak from experience.  I’ve started using cream blush and putting this powder over the top and not only does it lock it in place, but gives you that natural, wind bitten, glow from within look.
NYX Makeup Setting Spray – Matte Finish: I’ve recently fallen madly in love with Urban Decay ‘s Deslick Oil Control Setting Spray and notice a huge difference (review coming soon) if I don’t use it and wanted to see if I could find a high street equivalent to make my purse a little happier. After using it for a week or so I will say this, it’s not as good. HOWEVER, it does work. Urban Decay & Skindinavia are the crown jewels when it comes to setting sprays so of course it’s not going to be as good but it still impressed me much more than I thought it would. It helped my makeup last longer and although it didn’t keep my face matte all day, there was a noticable amount of reduced shininess, especially in my t-zone. So if you’re looking for an affordable highstreet setting spray to keep the oil at bay, try this one. It surprised me, it may surprise you.

Are you a NYX lover? What are your favourite products? Do you live in the UK and are as excited as I am?

Don’t forget to comment below, I’d love to hear your thoughts/suggestions!

Ciao for now

x

One thought on “NYX | Haul

  1. […] NYX HD powder As a person who suffers from an oily T-zone, powder regularly comes to my rescue to combat shine throughout the day so I’m always on the lookout to try new face setting powders. As this powder is very finely milled, you have to be careful so as not to accidentally dust yourself in a cloud of white. It tackles oil fairly well, nothing mind-blowing, but the thing I now primarily use it for is to set my undereye concealer as it works an absolute treat. Using my RT contour brush as it gets well into the corner of your eye, I pat a very small amount of the powder under my eye and ta-dah! You’re ready to face the day. This is just one of the many things I picked up from NYX, read about my full haul here. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

