December Favourites

2016. A year that seems so far away and yet it starts tomorrow. Although Winter is my favourite season, I’m not enjoying these dark nights so I’ll be glad when it gets a bit lighter. Enough of my ramblings and onto what you’ve actually come for – what I’ve been loving this past month.

 

306_orig.jpg

Sensationail Gel Starter Kit
As an avid lover of nail polishes, I wanted to try something a little longer lasting. On the run up to Christmas, Boots have a Star gift every week so I was ecstatic to see ‘Sensationail’s Gel Starter Kit’ for half the normal price. After trying a few different shades over the past month or so, I’m ready to give my opinion. I am well and truly won over. I’ve had gel nails done professionally before and although I’ve been impressed with the longevity, my nails have always been left a bit worse for wear. The formula of this kit is yet to show any damage to my nails and each colour has stayed on for approx a week and a half, sometimes longer. It’s safe to say, I’m a gel nail convert!

 

742_orig.jpg

Aveeno Daily Moisturising Lotion
From as long as I can remember around Mid-November time, I get a severe case of ‘dry winter skin’, especially on my legs. No moisturiser has ever been able to subside it so I spend the winter months literally scratching my legs to death. My mum suggested Aveeno & mentioned that it’s so well thought of that Doctor’s prescribe it. Well, if it’s good enough for them, it’s good enough for me. Having tried lots of moisturisers in the past, I wasn’t expecting much but this stuff is no joke – it actually works. I put this on in a morning & it lasts all day without having to reapply. Not only does it keep your skin moisturised all day, but it seeps into the skin pretty much straight away so there’s no waiting around for it to soak in. So if you’re a fellow sufferer of the dreaded ‘dry winter skin’ every year like me, I highly suggest this.

 

53_orig.jpg

Dove Maximum Strength Deodorant in GoFresh (Pomegranate and Lemon Verbena)
One of my personal paranoia’s is smelling, so I always tend to sway towards a strong deodorant that will guarantee me freshness and put to bed my B.O demons. I have used Triple Dry Spray Deodorant for a few years now but I didn’t feel as fresh as I once did when using it, so I decided to try a new one. The Dove Maximum Strength Deodorant really appealed to me as it is a cream deodorant as I find roll ons take a while to dry (and patience is not one of my strong points). It also claims to moisturise the underarm as it’s made with 1/4 moisturising cream…interesting. All I know that it works, and that’s good enough me!

 

227_orig.jpg

The Body Shop’s Fresh Sorbet Blush in Tuscan Grape
These last two weeks have consisted of me reaching for this .every.single.day. It gives such a reliably glowy, natural look that non of my other blushers offer. The formula is so very unique that it makes it virtually impossible to get wrong. To read my full review on this magical product, click here.
98_orig.jpg
Max Factor Creme Puff Blush in Alluring Rose
I have a confession to make. I really, really want the Hourglass’ Ambient Lighting Edit but am yet to take the very expensive plunge. So to substitute my need (for now) I picked up one Max Factor’s Creme Puff Blushes that are supposedly a dupe for the Hourglass’ Blushes. After swatching all six shades in Boots, picking one shade up, putting it back, picking up another, then putting that back – I ended up with ‘Alluring Rose‘. I’ve never tried a baked blusher before and this has completely converted me. It manages (somehow) to give you a soft focus, naturally pretty, inner glow. I would describe ‘Alluring Rose‘ as a Rose Gold blush marbled with Copper, which makes it not only an amazing blush but a great contouring product as well. Products that can multi-task are my favourite, definitely pick this up you’re in the market for a new blush and don’t want to break the bank.

548198280_orig

 

Max Factor Excess Shimmer Cream Eyeshadow in Bronze
If you’re a regular reader of ELR, you’ll know that I’m a huge fan of Maybelline’s Colour Tattoo Cream Eyeshadow in ‘Bad to the Bronze‘. So when I spotted this on the Max Factor stand, it was already a given that it would be going home with me (obviously i went to the till first and paid for it). This is more of a mousse like texture than the Maybelline’s Colour Tattoo Cream Eyeshadows and dare I say it, more pigmented…. This is such a beautiful Bronze shade and can be worn on it’s own and still make a smokin’ smokey eye (see what I did there?) and you’ve actually only used one product.

 

393_orig.jpg

Revlon Photo Ready Skinlights in Barely Light
The Revlon Photo Ready Skinlights in Bronze is still one of my favourite products to contour with, so I thought I’d try another colour from the range. In comes in four shades Pink, Peach, Bare Light & Bronze. Although I’ve always favoured a matt finish, I’ve been wanting to switch things up a little and try my hand at Strobing (read about the ins and outs of Strobing from a Cosmo article here). This is great highlighting product and works well mixed in with your foundation to give an all over that ‘inner glow‘ finish.

 

300_orig.jpg

Lancome Tresor Midnight Rose
I’ve never featured a perfume before in my favourites as if I’m honest I couldn’t care less what perfume I wear. Howeverthat was before I smelt Tresor Midnight Rose on one of my colleagues and I couldn’t stop myself from asking what she was wearing as it smelt divine. As Lancome is not the cheapest brand, I waited until there was some money off because that stuff is expensive. If you’re a perfume connoisseur, these are the fragrance notes.

Top notes: Raspberry Rose Absolute
Heart: Jasmine, Peony, Currant Buds, Pink Pepper
Base: Virginian Cedar, Musk and Vanilla

Or if you’re like me and haven’t a clue what all that means, give it a whiff the next time you’re passing Boots and you might get to love it as much as I do.

And that’s it! A collection of all my favourite things I’ve been loving/using this past month.

Have you tried any of these products yourself? Or is there anything that takes your fancy? What have you been loving this month?

Let me know in the comments below!

Ciao for now

x

3 thoughts on “December Favourites

  1. […] Max Factor Creme Puff Blush in Alluring Rose If you’ve never tried a baked blush before, let it be from this range. Baked cosmetic products weirdly actually begin as creams, and are baked for a period of time to dry them down to a solid. This process creates powders with a creamy, velvety texture which results in a more concentrated and pigmented product and they last longer on the skin. This particular shade, ‘Alluring Rose‘, is a Rose Gold blush marbled with Copper and could well be a love child of a blush and bronzer and this is the spectacular result. If you’re just starting out in the blush department and want to start with something that’s hard to get wrong, I definitely recommend looking into this. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

