July/August Favourites

As I failed to post a July favourites (and my stubborn determination to never miss a month), I decided to imalgimate July’s and August’s favourites. So without further ado, here they are!

3542699_orig
1. Drawer Cabinet from T K Maxx

I’d been on the lookout for a jewellery type organiser for quite a while. So when I found this in T K Maxx waiting for me, I instantly fell in love as it reminds me of the cabinets we have at work that hold the old catalogue records. I’m not really a jewellery lover as I only own a handful necklaces, but I wanted a place that I could separate them somewhat without them getting entangled beyond hope like they had previously been. At a measly £12.99, I practically skipped to the till.

2. Autumn Gold Maple Pumpkin Pancakes Candle

If only pictures had a scratch and sniff feature because oh my, this smells heavenly. As soon as you open the lid you’re transported to Canada, the land of Maple Syrup, and your mouth starts watering involuntarily. It’s only in the recent years that I’ve been a lover of candles but if it’s a food smelling candle , I am there. This has knocked my all time favourite, Yankee Candle’s Salted Caramel, off its pedestal and trust me, that’s a big statement to make. Some brands of candles tend to forget that packaging is important too, not this one. I love the cork lid and brown coloured glass of the jar and would definitely reuse this as a small vase once the candle has been used. I’ve never seen this Autumn Gold brand before but I’m very impressed so will keep a look out for them in the future.

3. Breton Striped Long Sleeved Tee from T K Maxx

Those who know me well, know that I’m going through a serious love affair with stripes at the moment. My nan had drilled into me from a young age that horizontal stripes were a ‘ no no’ as it made you look wider than you actually was. After wistfully looking at a striped tee a month or so ago, I decided to bite the bullet and try it on and realised I had been missing out on wearing stripes for twenty years because of somebody else’s opinion. This long sleeved tee is great for Autumn and a major bonus for me is that the sleeves are long enough too, hooray for the long limbed! I love the little breast pocket and it looks good simply with jeans or worn under a pinafore. It’s quickly become a new staple in my wardrobe so gets a 10/10 from me.

4253657_orig.png

4. High Collar Lace Sleeveless Top from New Look

As soon as I clocked this in New Look, I knew I had to have it. It gives a subtle nod to the Edwardian era with its lace collar and I cannot wait to wear it with a skirt or pinafore. Although it’s a Summer item of clothing, you can take it through to Autumn and maybe even Winter if worn with jeans and layer it with a cardigan or duster jacket.

8053961_orig

5. Tassel Moccasins from New Look

Scrolling through New Look’s ‘New in’ section on their website, I came across these Moccasins. I have a soft spot for Moccasins and with the subtle tassel detail and Conker coloured tan, I was sold in 10 seconds flat. These are the comfiest shoes I’ve ever worn from the ‘get go’ and am very tempted to order them in black and navy too. Am I the only one who finds something I like then proceed to then buy it in every colour available?

9247211_orig.png

6. Jeepers Creepers Sunglasses from Asos

Sunglasses are like cat nip to me and I tend to gravitate towards them in a shop. However having said that, I’m very particular about sunglasses and usually go for a classic tortoiseshell frame. Initially I was hesitant in ordering sunglasses from Asos as obviously you can’t try them on, but when they came in the post and I did try them on, I was extremely happy. And they’re really well made and sturdy, something that is a must for me as I tend to drop, well, everything.

8272356_orig.png

7. Paisley 70s Shirt from Asos

The 70s era of fashion is making a big comeback this season, and although some things I really don’t like (flares? No thank you!), I’m onboard for some of it -this paisley shirt being one. I love a good statement shirt as they are so versatile and can be worn for years and never go out of style. It helps you look like you’ve spent lots of time choosing what to wear when in fact,  you’ve thrown on some jeans and a jazzy shirt. Paisley is not for everyone but don’t right it off completely, you may be surprised.

2283193_orig.png

8. Black lattice sandals (New Look) from Asos

I’d been eyeing up these beauties for a few months before taking the plunge but I’m so glad I did. Now I’ve had mixed reviews when wearing these, very much like the attitude towards Marmite. However, sandals are not really my thing as I don’t like to have my feet out, and because these cover up the toes I feel more confident when I wear them. What do you think of them? Yay or Nay?

7347732_orig.png

9. 2 x Stripe Tshirt Asos

The stripe love affair strikes gain! I spied these on Asos awhile back but they where out of stock in every size for such a long time which made me think there must be something about them that everybody loved, and I wasn’t wrong. The main thing I absolutely love about these is that they are long in the body. I spend half my life pining after t-shirts that resemble a crop top on someone tall like myself, not a good look. They’re oversized so if you are thinking about ordering some yourself and usually like a slim fit, I’d order it in a size smaller than your usual. I can see myself wearing these for years to come and as they are a really soft cotton, I don’t suppose it’ll be such a hardship…

1319390_orig.png

10. Heritage scarf (New Look) from Asos

I’m a firm believer that it doesn’t necessarily have to be cold outside to wear a scarf, they just add a bit of oomph to a bland outfit. Now I’m a check/tartan scarf kind of girl and very rarely go outside of this comfort zone as they go with just about everything – why try and fix something that’s not broken? I’ve worn this scarf a few times already (yes, I do realise it is summer but remember this is British weather we’re talking about here) and have had some lovely compliments and I love the fact that it’s a pretty voluminous scarf, not just a little straggly thing.

11. Pom Pom Lipstick from Soap & Glory

I rediscovered this lipstick a few weeks ago from the bottom of an old handbag (and a £10 note!) and completely forgot what a lovely colour it is. It’s unbelievably pigmented and is very matte so not for the chapped lips or faint hearted. As you know, I love lipstick, and Soap and Glory is more well known for their bath/shower products rather than make-up however it’s such an underestimated brand and I recommend trying their makeup range if you haven’t before.

1391203_orig

12. Cutlery Organiser for Makeup

As you’ve probably guessed I have a thing for make-up therefore have quite a collection. Putting my makeup on was frustrating me because if you lifted one thing out of my make-up bag, everything else would come with it, so I racked my brains for a solution. As I sit at my dressing table to do my make-up and had two drawers that I could make use of, I had a light bulb moment of using a cutlery organiser that you can buy almost anywhere as a drawer divider. Note to self: Actually measure the drawer before purchasing a cutlery organiser as otherwise you will have to saw it down to the right size, like I did. I’m so happy with it and it also encourages me to put whatever I use back straight away – less mess, always a good thing.

2407720_orig.jpg

13. Bourjois Aqua Blush in Coral

If you keep up with the latest make-up trends, you will know that contouring and strobing are a pretty big thing right now so everyone (except me) looks like bronzed goddesses. Being practically translucent, the harsh look of full on contouring would look wrong on me on so many different levels. I like to look fresh and this blusher helps me to achieve that. Although it’s quite a sheer formula (I use it with my Real Techniques Blusher Brush), it’s very buildable and really hard to get wrong so will appeal to those of you who are scared of replicating the clown look.

8735737_orig.jpg

14. Bourjois liquid lipstick in Beau Brown

Bourjois’ liquid lipsticks are such an innovative and unique formula and I cannot recommend them enough. They dry to a matte, long lasting finish and doesn’t dry the lips – what’s not to like? I’ve been wearing a lot of this shade the past month or so, it’s like a ‘my lips but better’ shade and would suit most skin tones.

9681060_orig

15. Maybelline Lash Sensational

We all look for that one mascara which does it all. The one which lengthens, volumizes and separates. I’m not claiming that this is the perfect mascara as I am yet to find it BUT it’s pretty darn close. There’s been a great debate between Maybelline’s Lash Sensational & Benefit’s Roller Lash and after trying both for a lengthy amount of time, I have to go with Maybelline. Don’t get me wrong, Roller Lash is amazing for separating and lengthening however it’s not buildable at all. Lash Sensational on the other hand does all of the above but is very buildable, so much so that I have recently been skipping the eyeliner and just going straight for the mascara. Another thing I love and that is a must have in a mascara, is not transferring and making you look like a panda, not a good look (well not one I’ve been able to pull off anyway).

5127516_orig.png

16. Unbreakable Smile by Tori Kelly

I’ve been following Tori for years on YouTube and I feel like proud sister now that’s she brought her first album out. Her voice continues to amaze me and if you want to listen to a feel good/emotional album, then I suggest on giving her a listen. Now her music isn’t for everyone but no one can deny her unbelievable voice. Her range is incredible and she slides up and down riffs with so much ease as if it’s as natural as blinking. If you haven’t heard her before, check her out on YouTube – if you don’t fall in love with her voice like I did, then I suggest you get your hearing tested.

8951511_orig.png
17. Young Blood by Saint Raymond

Catchy guitar riffs and genuinely well thought out lyrics is what I love about Saint Raymond. Again, I originally found him on YouTube when he released his music video to Fall at your feet a few years ago. He obviously knows the recipe for a good as  these are the type of songs that will be stuck in your head all day. I’m going to see him in York in November and I know without a doubt I won’t be disappointed.

And that’s it, all my favourite things from July and August. If you follow me on insta then you will know that I have been decorating my room so I apologise for the lack of my own photographs of the products, I just haven’t been able to get to them.

Don’t forget to let me know what you think!

Ciao for now

X

Leave a Reply

