June Favourites

Can’t believe we’re over halfway through the year already, where has the time gone?! I thought I’d do a blog post of all my favourite things that I’ve done, seen or purchased in the month of June. So without further ado, let’s get to it.

 

9861052_orig

1. Sewerby Hall

Having not been to Sewerby Hall in such a long time and with it being such nice weather, we decided to pay it a visit. £6 (for an adult) will give you access to the hall, gardens & animals – which I think is well worth every penny. They surprisingly have a wide variety of animals from goats to monkeys & even penguins. With it also not being your classic zoo set up were you can only see the animals but from a hundred foot away, it makes for a better experience as you can actually interact with the animals.

We had a welcome break for lunch at the Clock Tower Cafe overlooking the gardens in the heat under the shade of a parasol. The food was lovely and they even do afternoon tea, which I may have to go back and sample at a later date…

If you’re green fingered their gardens are captivating to wander through and even have a plant nursery too if it inspires you.

We had a wonderful day and I would recommend it to anybody and everybody. And just in case you are wondering, even though it was 28°c that day my skin refused to cooperate and I didn’t get sunburnt, not even a little bit.

 

11402989_10203138827190441_2924500041046924396_n11665690_10203138826750430_8779931139551759973_n

2. Laura Ashley Mug (& Twinings Chai Latte)

I’ve been converted to a hard core tea lover (is there such a thing?) over the last year or so, Yorkshire Tea being my main. Chai Tea and Chai Tea Lattes, if you’ve ever tried them, are a cinnamon and spiced tea that is not to everybody’s taste but is my ‘go to’ in coffee shops (Caffè Nero’s Chai Latte is 10/10). Wandering up and down the tea and coffee aisle in Tesco’s (as you do), I came across these ‘Twinings Chai Latte’s‘, and after seeing the beautiful packaging, I grabbed them and practically ran to the till. Now, as I don’t have a milk frother I knew it wasn’t going a proper coffee shop Chai but it’s definitely the next best thing. My favourite out of the two is the Vanilla and would certainly repurchase. Now you obviously need a mug to put your tea in and I happened across this beautiful Hummingbird one in Laura Ashley. Whilst purchasing it, the lady at the till kindly told me that it was supposed to be used for camping, I laughed it off but a mug’s a mug, right?

 

10985053_10203138825590401_8368648551218305967_n

3. Aussie Shower Smoothie

Now I’m a sucker for wonderfully smelling things and when I came across this in Boots, I knew instantly that it was a new favourite. It’s hard to explain the delicious smell, but give it a whiff and you’ll what I mean. I’ve never come across products from Aussie for the skin, as they usually are a hair brand, however they get the thumbs up from me and I can’t wait to try some of their other shower creams/gels if they smell as good as this one.

4. Co-lab Dry Shampoo

I can’t remember life before dry shampoo. Greasy hair the day after you’ve washed it is annoying at the best times. I’ve been an avid user of Batiste, the front runner of all things dry shampoo, ever since it came out a fair few years back. However, I have a new favourite. This stuff is amazing. I have it in the scent Paris (obviously) and it’s the sheer invisible formula, and trust me it really is. This makes your hair smell lovely and looking fresh, a staple in my hair routine even just for some extra volume.

 

11108515_10203138825830407_7377445821004902528_n

5. Garnier Micellar Water

I love putting make up on, but taking it off is another thing. I don’t know why but I always dread and put off taking it off at the end of the day. I’d seen the Garnier Micellar Water popping up everywhere and when I found it on offer I reluctantly gave it a go. You use it with cotton wool pads and it wipes the make up away – no rubbing required. It’s such a refreshing feeling and dissolves your makeup so no need to worry about getting anything on your pillow even though you think you got it all. I’m a Micellar Water convert and can’t wait to try out others against this one. Definitely a thumbs up from me.

 

6. Pinafore (s) | Dorothy Perkins

I’d wanted a pinafore for a long time but had never see one to try so wasn’t even sure that it would suit me,  but now that I’ve hit the jackpot, I’m in love. With being tall, some dresses are like shirts on me but these from Dorothy Perkins are the perfect length to wear with leggings. The navy pinafore come with a blue and white striped short sleeved tee and the black pinaforecomes with a white ribbed short sleeved tee. They are great value for money as the pinafore & tee are detachable so you can mix and match to your hearts content.

 

7. Striped tee & Botanical Jacket | Dorothy Perkins

After loving the striped tee that came with the pinafore, I bought another, also from DP’s, but with a little bit of a twist as the sleeves are a red stripe. You can either dress it up or down and you can be comfortable either way – what’s not to love?

Whilst in DP’s I also spied this botanical floral jacket and after falling for it in the changing room, I couldn’t leave the shop without purchasing it too.

 

8902087

8. Topshop Sandals 

Being tall comes with its advantages and disadvantages. One of my main disadvantages is feet. They’re not small (if they were I’d topple over) and they’re not narrow, so shoe shopping for me is my idea of a nightmare. I love shoes, they just don’t love me back. Purchasing shoes online always comes with mixed feelings as I love the look of them but have already told myself that there’s 99% chance that they won’t fit. So you can imagine my surprise, after purchasing these Topshop Sandals (BNWT) from Ebay, when they came in the post and actually fit. I’m always really conscious about wearing heels because people comment on how tall you are so these are a happy medium heel height for me. I don’t like feet on the best of days and dread getting them out every year (boots and brogues make up my comfort zone), so I’m hoping these will give me a bit more confidence to give my feet an airing.

 

7542178_orig

9. Maxfactor’s Glossfinity in Candy Rose & Essie’s Splash of Grenadine

Nail Polish is a secret love of mine as I don’t like my hands at the best of times so it just helps me get along with them a bit more. I’m normally a red nail lover but this last month I’ve worn a variety of pinks on my nails and after all the compliments I’ve had, I’m a convert. The two that I’ve been using are Maxfactor’s Glossfinity in Candy Rose (a dark rose colour) and Essie’s Splash of Grenadine (think muted magenta).

 

6661588_orig

10. Mac’s Diva Lipstick

I LOVE lipstick. If there was a ‘Lipstick Addicts Anonymous’ help group, I would be taking the group nevermind just attending. MAC are like the George Clooney of lipsticks and I have a list as long as my arm (and my arms pretty long) of colours I lust after on a daily basis that I am yet to buy from their range. Diva definitely isn’t for the faint hearted. It’s an extremely dark matte red that looks almost black in the tube. The staying power is pretty impressive, just be careful not to smudge it all over your face by accident as you will look like the joker (yes, I speak from experience).
There you go! A list of my favourite things in June. I’m hopefully going to try to make my monthly favourites a regular thing so you know what I’m loving at the moment and to give you ideas for fun places to go and visit. Anything that you’ve used, bought or visited in June that you loved? Let me know, I’d love to hear what you have to say!

Ciao for now

x

 

One thought on “June Favourites

Leave a Reply

