Maybelline Color Drama Lipsticks | Review & Swatches

So, somehow I managed to miss the Maybelline Color Drama Lipstick Train last year, better late than never though right?

If you’re a beauty lover like myself (who am I joking, why else would you be here?) you’ll know that the Nars Velvet Matte Lip Pencils are a cult favourite for well, everybody. As I don’t have a Nars counter in close proximity, I thought I’d try the much raved about high street dupe before I get my hands on the real thing.

When I wandered into Boots a few weeks ago, Maybelline just happened to be on 3 for 2, so it would have been rude not to take full advantage of the offer. There are seven shades in the range (for the UK) and I picked up 2 bolds and a neautral – Red Essential, Fab Orange and Nude Perfection.

The formula, although matte, is extremely creamy and is not drying at all which obviously in turn means that they’re quite transferable when eating and drinking and can be smudged if you’re not careful. The three Colour Drama Lipsticks I tried are all extremely pigmented so you can skip the lipliner (one less thing to do if you’re in a rush which I always am!)

Nude Perfection is a brown based nude and compliments my snow white complexion perfectly as more pink based nudes tend to wash me out. It’s very much a toned down ’90s nude’ and such an easy shade to wear everyday. If you’re going to try one from this collection, let it be this one.
Fab Orange is an eyecatching orange based red and reminds me very much of Bourjois’ Velvet Rouge Edition in Hot Pepper.
Red Essential is very much a true red. Not too dark, not too light – it’s literally slap bang in the middle of the red chart (if there is such a thing).
697_orig.jpg
Have you tried Maybelline’s Colour Drama Lipsticks? What’s your favourite shade? Is it a true dupe for Nars’ Lip Pencils?

I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments box below!

Ciao for now

x

4 thoughts on “Maybelline Color Drama Lipsticks | Review & Swatches

Leave a Reply

