October Favourites

The nights are drawing in and the weather is turning. Yes, it’s November already. I can’t believe that we’re only 2 months away from 2016, where has the time gone? It feels like only yesterday that strapless tops and floppy hats were out in all their glory. Okay, enough of dwelling on all things Summer related and onto what I’ve been loving this past month.

 

5749493_orig.jpg

Yellow Parka Coat
If you’ve been walking around with your eyes closed then it maybe news to you but yellow coats are on the up. So I’ve been channeling my inner fisherman – stripes, knitted jumpers and everything in between. Now in the month of October I will admit (guiltily) that I have in fact purchased 2 yellow coats. My first purchase was a Regatta Broderie Coat in Gold (basically a mustard yellow) which consists of padding and an inner lining, meaning you are toasty indeed. However, as the weather is still very intermittent at the moment and it can become a little too toasty with it on if the sun decides to show it’s face. So on my recent trip to Leeds, I spotted a Yellow Waterproof Parka coat which was the thinner version of my Regatta more suitable for those warmer days. Perfect, now I’m covered for the forseeable future.4711372_orig.jpg

Topshop Scarf
Every year I look for that one main scarf to get me through the winter, that one which will add to any outfit and will go with anything. This is the third year running that Topshop has filled that need and they never fail to disappoint me. Although at £22 it is on the pricier side when buying a scarf, you get a lot of material for your money and you know it won’t look worn and bobbly on the fifth wear like some do. Think of it as an investment (it makes my purse and I feel better).

 

3781575_orig.jpg

M&S Faux Sheepskin Coat
I may have failed to mention earlier that I bought not one, but two coats in Leeds (woops!) and the second was indeed an unexpected purchase from M&S. I’ve been on the lookout for a sheepskin – style coat for sometime and I was instantly drawn to this one, hook, line & sinker. I love it’s asymmetrical zip and waterfall – type collar which makes it different to others I have seen. Basically I love it and want to wear it all the time even when I’m at home watching TV,  which is extremely normal and everyone does that… right?!

 

7393272_orig.jpg

James Bay
WHAT A NIGHT. If you’ve read my blog post on ‘10 Albums I Couldn’t Live Without‘, then you will know that James Bay’s Debut Album, ‘Chaos & the Calm’ is one of my all time favourites. Unlike some artists/bands you may see live were you ownly like 80-90% of their songs on their albums, there is not one song that left you disappointed with this album which obviously also contributed hugely to the enjoyment of the gig. Not only was his voice & guitar skills incredibly impressive, the pure gratitude and awe you could see written on his face when the crowd (including myself) was singing his own songs back to him was plain to see. Many in the music industry now want nothing more but their name in lights and to get to a supposedly high status in society. However, James has busked for years and years because he was simply doing what he wanted to do and I’m so pleased he’s now able to do what he loves so much and play to people all over the world. Without a doubt I would see him again live and if you get the chance too, grab it with both hands.
3917177_orig.jpg
The Balm Voyage Travel Palette Vol 2
As I was rummaging through the beauty section in the T K Maxx in Leeds, I spotted TheBalm ‘s logo and I have never moved so quick (seriously, my sister can vouch for that). When I could finally grab at it, there was a very much Lion King moment as I held it in the air. Can we just take a moment to appreciate it’s packaging. Brand new this is worth £30 and I picked this up for £19.99 and athough it’s a travel palette, I have used this everyday since I bought it. The eyeshadows are so pigmented and last all day over a cream base. The blushes, especially the cream blushes, are like no other I own – they actually stay on ALL day. I am yet to acquire the much raved about Mary Luminiser by TheBalm (one day!) but if it’s anything like the highlighter in this palette, I know I won’t be disappointed. So basically, I’m in love with it and I’ll stop rambling now because I could go on for days.
L’oreal Infallible Eyeshadow in Tender Caramel & Endless Chocolate
I love reading, especially blogs, and I kept coming across amazing reviews of the L’oreal Infallible Eyeshadows and as avid eyeshadow wearer myself, I had to try them. However, when I looked on the Boots/Superdrug websites, they were nowhere to be found – much to my disappointment they had been discontinued (goodness knows why). I raked through the Internet to try and find if I could still buy then anywhere and I came across Fragrancedirect. They not only sold most of the colours, but they were 3 for £5, bearing in mind when sold at Boots etc. they were retailing at £7.99 each. So naturally, I bought 6. I’ve only used two so far, Tender Caramel & Endless Chocolate, and to say I’m impressed is an understatement. I find using these pressed pigments wet gets the best intense colour payoff. The other four colours I have are. I can’t wait to try them on a more special occasion as I feel a full on Midnight Blue Smoky eye may just be a tad overdone for work.
4819952_orig.jpg
Look Good Feel Better Angled Blending Brush
I have been on the hunt for a brush like for this for months but my local Boots/Superdrug never had any in stock and I was reluctant to order anything online without seeing it in real life first. I managed to pick this up at the HUGE Boots in Leeds (not jealous, not jealous at all) and have used it nonstop since. It fits perfectly to just above my crease/browbone and makes blending an absolute dream. This makes a ‘Smoky eye’ look easily obtainable to even a novice or someone wanting to try something a bit out of their comfort zone. And to quote Despicable Me “IT’S SO FLUFFY!”.
4277306_orig.jpg
Mac’s Velvet Teddy & Persistence
I have spent hours upon hours researching Mac’s lipsticks so that I knew what I wanted when I waltzed (well, my version of waltzing) into Harvey Nic’s. I’ve always been one partial to a red lip however recently I’ve been swinging towards the Brown/Mauvey tones so I decided to add some staples to my collection and what better brand than Mac. Velvet Teddy was already a certain in my mind, it’s a classic. Next I was on the lookout for a classic brown 90s shade. Mac has so, so many shades to choose from but the fact I prefer a matte finish, helped narrow it down (ever so slightly). It was a tie between about 5 different shades but Persistence, a new addition to Mac this Summer,  just picked them at the post because of it’s unusual Peachy Cinnamon undertones.
9210646_orig.jpg
Rimmel Exaggerate Lipliner in Eastend Snob and Out of My Mind
Eastend Snob (best lipliner name ever) and Mac’s Velvet Teddy are a match made in lipstick heaven. They’re pretty much a perfect match and stay put for hours on end without touch ups. Out of My Mind is a killer combo with Mac’s Diva or it’s cheaper dupe, Maybelline’s Colour Sensational Matte Lipstick in Divine Wine, and creates the ultimate dark lip – perfect for Autumn.
8417811_orig.jpg
NYC Liquid Eyeliner
This is the blackest of black liquid eyeliner that does not budge all day I have ever used. It has a really thin brush applicator which I find really easy to use and to create the classic cateye look. The only downside is that it can get on your lashes when applying so you may just have to wipe your lashes before applying mascara but to me, that’s something I can overlook if my eyeliner is practically bulletproof. And for just a couple of pound? Don’t mind if I do!
3004330_orig.jpg
Stila Stay All Day Liquid Lipstick in Fiery
I’ve worn this 3 times since I bought it this month, and every single time I have, I’ve had compliments (the guy at the petrol station said he liked the way my lips looked like material… if you could class that as a compliment). I wore this to James Bay and had it on approx 6 hours and it didn’t budge and looked the same at the end of the night. It’s the matte -est (is that even a word?) liquid lipstick I’ve ever come across, so much so that when you drink something, there’s nothing on your cup. However, the only niggly little thing I would say about this is when you are eating rather than wearing off evenly, it tends to crumble slightly in the middle of your lip so a touch up is a must after eating. But apart from that I adore this product and can’t wait to try some different shades from the range.
9449781_orig.jpg
Lee Stafford Here Come the Curls
There’s not really a lot of hair products that wow me like this did the first time I used it. As it’s not the cheapest hair product going I was very pensive on handing over my money, but I’m so glad I did. I spray this over my damp hair after I’ve applied a bit of any old mousse and dry it with my diffuser and ta-dah! Bouncy, defined curls. I also can use this on my hair when it needs a little bit of a pick me up and TLC mid – wash.
And that’s it, everything I’ve been loving this past month.
What are your October favourites?

Ciao for now

​x

One thought on “October Favourites

Leave a Reply

