September Favourites

Another month, another favourites. I can’t believe that it’s October already and Autumn is well under way (although the weather is very unpredictable at the moment, come on make up your mind). So whether it’s places I’ve visited or things I have bought, here’s what I’ve been loving in September.

454032_orig.jpg

1. Center Parcs

This is the first time we’d visited Center Parcs in twelve years, so many of my memories I had were pretty sketchy as I was only young. The thing I love about Center Parcs the most is that you have everything in one place. Shopping, swimming, cycling, restaurants, coffee shops – you name it, 99% chance they’ll have it. One memory that I do remember distinctively from many moons ago was the animals, and more specifically the squirrels and swans. The back door of the villa becomes a hive of activity, swans tapping on the window for bread, squirrels whipping out the old puppy dog eyes for some monkey nuts – it never gets old. Even if you’re not really an outdoor-sy kind of person, there’s a spa that offers numerous treatments to keep you occupied.

 

4749463_orig

2. Thieving Harry’s

Now there’s not many places that you walk into and feel instantly at home, but Thieving Harry’s is an exception. With it’s impressive exterior and mix matched interior, what’s not to like? Although it’s not to everyone’s taste, there’s no denying their barista skills (lattes are a must) and the burgers are out of this world. Hands down, best burger I’ve ever had. So if you live or are visiting Hull, pop to Thieving Harry’s, it may surprise you.

3. Instax Mini 8

Now I won’t ramble on about this camera too much as you all probably know if you’ve read my review on it (click here) and previous blog posts that I love it to pieces. But it still is one of my prized possessions and never let’s me down. The Polaroids I take with it amaze me every time with the quality. If you’re sitting on the fence about getting one, buy it. You won’t be disappointed.

 

ATT_1443870606819_20151003_103830-1.jpg

4. OGX Cherry Blossom Ginseng Shampoo

Who doesn’t love a good shampoo? All I have to say about this product is smells good, does good. A job well done if you ask me.
ATT_1443870606936_20151003_103339.jpg
5. Maybelline Brow drama mascara / Brow Satin

Brows. Everyone has brows. Some are thick, some are thin, some are sparse and some are just completely unruly. Thankfully I’ve been blessed with thick (ish) eyebrows so pencilling them in to within an inch of their life is not a daily struggle for me. However, I do still like to use products to give them a bit more shape and more of a groomed look rather than the ‘I literally woke up like this’ look. I absolutely love Maybelline’s satin brow as one end has a twist up like pencil that helps create hair like strokes and the other end has brow powder which helps fill in any of the larger parts of the brow that are in need of more tlc. I then love going over my eyebrows with the brow drama mascara which not only sets the masterpiece you’ve just created in place, but helps give your brows still that hair like appearance rather than just 2 blocks of brown (or whatever colour your brows are).

ATT_1443870606711_20151003_104016.jpg
6. Mac Pro Longwear Concealer in NC15

Praise the concealer wizards at Mac for this product. I’ve struggled with ugly dark circles under my eyes since I can remember, causing people to constantly ask me if I’d had a late one the night before. I’ve gone through many, many different concealers over the years and I’ve finally found one that I know I can count on every morning. I blend it in with my Real Techniques Complexion Sponge and set it straight away with my NYC loose translucent powder, another of my favourites this month. It’s a dupe for Laura Mercier’s setting powder and with a price difference of over £20, I see no competition.

ATT_1443870644729_20151003_103030.jpg
7. Soap and Glory’s Hocus Focus

Mixing this in with my Seventeen Stay Time foundation gives me a near matte finish with a healthy glow rather than a flat matte finish. You get a good amount of product for your money and it’s also a good highlight for the cheekbones too, bonus.

ATT_1443870644828_20151003_103015.jpg
8. Revlon Photoready Prime + Anti Shine

I’ve never been one for primer. I used to go straight from moisturiser to foundation but after using this, I’ve changed my mind. It smooths out my pores and helps my foundation to glide on so much easier. I can’t say it eliminates all shine but it certainly helps to contribute to less shiny face through the day.

ATT_1443870645038_20151003_102747.jpg
9. Revolution Ultra Contour Palette

Contouring. It’s the biggest makeup trend by far in 2015 and nearly everyone has jumped on the band wagon. Hardcore contouring is for catwalks and red carpets not for everyday life. So this palette helps me achieve my own, toned down version of contouring without the hefty price tag. The pigmentation of these are amazing and paired with a Real Techniques contour brush, it’s a dream to work with. If you’re a paley like me, this is the perfect kit for you. But if you do have a bit of colour, I suggest my next favourite.

ATT_1443870644611_20151003_103119.jpg
10. Revlon Photoready Skinlights Face Illuminator in Bronze Light

Blending is key with this product and although I do love and use it on myself, if you have a bit colour or have naturally tanned I think this would look an absolute dream. I have practically nonexistent cheekbones so when trying to fake it, you can only go so far without looking like a clown (a chiseled clown at that). You have to use this with a light hand and when done right, looks amazing. So if you’re new to this and not quite sure, I’d suggest the Revolution palette.

 

And that’s my favourites for this month! Now you may have noticed I didn’t include any lipsticks, which is very unlike me as I am a major lipstick wearer. But keep an eye out as I will be putting up an autumn themed lipstick edit in the next few days.

Ciao for now

x

 

Leave a Reply

