The Autumnal Lipstick Edit

Much to the majority of people’s resentment, Autumn is here. However, Autumn/Winter is my favourite time of year as berry colours can once again grace our lips and scarves can hug our necks. My lipstick collection has gone darker and more daring than ever this year so I thought I’d share with you the staple lipsticks that will be close to hand in my bag for the forseeable future.

 

Maybelline Color Sensational Matte Lipstick in Divine Wine
If you’re looking for a dark berry lip and have not ventured into that part of the colour spectrum as of yet and don’t want to break the bank, this is the one for you. It’s a pretty much exact dupe for Mac’s Diva without the hefty price tag. Although it is a matte lipstick, it’s surprisingly moisturising and doesn’t tug on the lips like some can do. I don’t have to wear lip liner with this as it doesn’t bleed (thank you Maybelline!), but I do suggest keeping a concealer in your handbag as with darker colours the cleaner the line, the better.

Mac’s Diva
Although Maybelline’s Color Sensational Matte Lipstick in Divine Wine is pretty much an exact shade dupe for Mac’s Diva, I still adore this lipstick too. If you want a high impact, long lasting lipstick, you’ve found it. However, I do find the formula of this lipstick a little drying so I suggest putting on lip balm before application. Lip liner is a must with this lipstick too, the joker is not a good look.

Revlon Super Lustoruous in Mink
Brown lipstick, it doesn’t suit everybody. I was on the edge before I bought it but if you don’t try it, how are you going to know? This has become my favourite ‘go to’ lipstick when I’m at work and don’t always have the time to worry about lipstick and topping it up. As it has a satin, not fully opaque finish, it’s very moisturising and suprisingly has a few hours wear before having to top up. It’s very much a ‘my lips but better’ shade and helps you achieve the ‘I woke up like this’ look, simple but effective. What’s not to love?

Seventeen Lipstick in Rulebreaker
This is a lighter berry shade than the others I have mentioned up to now and although it’s also the cheapest, the formula is just as good. Personally, I think that Seventeen ‘s lipstick range is seriously underrated and even my favourite red lipstick, Infared, is from this brand too. It’s a fairly matte finish however is still very silky smooth and moisturising on the lips and the staying power is pretty impressive.

Kate Moss for Rimmel in 107
I originally purchased this shade as it’s Zoella ‘s holy grail lipstick that she wears constantly and basically thought ‘Damn I want me some of that’ (along with half of the nation). It’s a lovely deep purple berry shade which will suit most skin tones and is perfect for autumn. The staying power is pretty average and you get a few hours wear before a top up. The finish is semi-matte and is surprisingly quite moisturising so will be good for those who tend to have dry lips.

Bourjois Rouge Edition Velvet Liquid Lipstick in Grand Cru
Liquid lipsticks have taken makeup brands by storm this year and Bourjois were the first to bring it to the high street and certainly did it right. They have a good range of shades and are coming out with more by the minute to try and keep up with demand. The shade Grand Cru takes two coats to make it opaque but once it’s on there you don’t have to worry about it for a good while. As it’s quite a dark red, I suggest you apply it with a lip brush to get a sharp line that everyone will be envious of.

 

And that’s it, a handful (or two) of lipsticks that have been tried and tested by me ready for us to wear through the upcoming Autumn/Winter period.

Are you a dark lip lover? What’s your favourite Autumnal lipstick?

Ciao for now

X

 

482_orig.jpg

 

One thought on “The Autumnal Lipstick Edit

Leave a Reply

