The Stand Outs of 2015

I’ve eventually wittled it down to my 5 ‘Stand Outs of 2015 after a lot of umm-ing and arr-ing. What we’re left with is five products that I’ve discovered through the course of this year, some of them very recent, that I now consider staples and couldn’t live without. Now onto the products themselves:
1. Maybelline Lash Sensational Mascara
If you’re yet to try this mascara, then what are you waiting for? This is hands down the best mascara I have used ever, and I mean ever. It does it all – lengthens, volumizes, holds a curl, and is well and truly black. One thing that I’ve struggled with mascaras and has dissapointed me time and time again over the years, is the dreaded ‘panda eyes’. Many mascaras have looked so very promising from the beginning and yet at the end of the day, I look half-human half-panda. However Lash Sensational blows them all out of the water with it’s flake free & smudge free formula (or as I like to think, anti-panda eyes). They’ve also just released a waterproof version that will definitely appeal to those of you who are streamy eyed (or just love a good splash in a puddle) that I’m yet to try.
2. Maybelline Brow Drama in Dark Brown
For me, Maybelline have really stepped up their game this year earning themselves anotherspot in my ‘Stand Outs of 2015‘. This time it’s a brow product. Now although my brows themselves haven’t changed over the years, the way I do them (style them? Is there a correct term?) has. For years I religiously used Elf’s Eyebrow Kit and got many other members of my family using it as well. It’s still a great products but I tend to gravitate towards a more natural brow now. I dabbled with a few products from the high street and came across this odd looking contraption. As the sphere-like shape of the wand is not teeny, those of you with sparse brows will probably get the product everywhere but where you actually want it. However, if you’re like me and have fairly dense brows and just need them to look a bit tidier/presentable then I definitely suggest looking into this products. Not only does it have 4 different shades,Deep Blonde, Medium Brown, Dark Brown & Transparent, but it doesn’t leave you with that dreaded crispy brow feeling. Not a good look.
3. Vichy Dermablend Setting Powder
Now I am yet to talk about this on my blog as I’ve only actually been trying this over the last few weeks. However, if you’re prone to that grease monkey look half way through the day like I am I’d definitely check this out. I’ve been using NYC’s Transparent Powder for the best part of this year but for some reason they’ve suddenly disappeared from all of my local Superdrugs and there’s only a few products left on the website so I’m wondering if they’ve gone bankrupt or something. Anyways, it’s really hard to find setting powder that is actually transparent, doesn’t oxidise your foundation and keeps the oil at bay. Enter Vichy Dermablend Setting Powder. I picked this up from FeelUnique but it’s also available elsewhere including Boots. And if you’re like me who tends to bake the undereye if you have time to set it (being early is not my strong point) this does a great job of that too. All in all, it ticks all of the boxes and doesn’t break the bank, count me in!
4. Mac Lipstick in Persistence
Now I couldn’t have a yearly beauty favourites round-up without having a lipstick pick, could I? There’s so many lipsticks that I’ve been loving this year, it’s been so hard to pick just one. I eventually decided on this one because I have nothing else like it and get so many compliments when wearing it. Persistence is a deep mauve with a brown undertone and tends to lean ever so slightly towards the peachy side compared to the much blogged about ‘Whirl’. With 90’s fashion and makeup trends making a huge comeback in 2015, brown shades once again graced our lips all over the world. However, because I’m pretty much as paIe as they come, I didn’t want to look too washed out with pure matte brown lips so this was the perfect shade for me.
5. Urban Decay De-Slick Makeup Setting Spray
I originally bought the travel size of this a month ago or so to see if it helped keep the shine at bay and to set my foundation. It was only when I ran out of it, that I realised just how much of a difference it made. It without a doubt keeps you oil-free all day. Admittedly at around the 7/8 hour mark you get a slight shine, however it’s a very slight shine (think healthy glow) rather than full on shining beacon. One of the main things I noticed was that it sets your makeup in such a way that it helps everything else seep into your skin and work together to look more natural, rather than the unatural ‘cake face’ you can end up with if you’ve accidentally gone a bit heavy handed on the foundation, concealer, powder etc. Basically, it’s like liquid magic in a convenient spray bottle.

What have you been loving this past year? Have you tried any of my Top 5?

Let me know in the comments below!

Ciao for now

x

Leave a Reply

