Pink to Make the Boys Wink.

image

Creams. Powders. Gels. Stains.

When did it all get so complicated?

Blushers now not only come in every shade imaginable to suit various skintones but also in different innovative, cutting edge formulas which can at times be overwhelming. Brands bombard you with campaigns telling you that their product is the best, but who’s really is genuinely worth buying?

So today I thought I’d make it a little easier (hopefully) and show you a variety of blushes from my collection that I’ve accumulated & tried and tested over the years and which ones keep me reaching for them again & again.

Now, onto the good stuff.

image

Max Factor Creme Puff Blush in Alluring Rose
If you’ve never tried a baked blush before, let it be from this range. Baked cosmetic products weirdly actually begin as creams, and are baked for a period of time to dry them down to a solid. This process creates powders with a creamy, velvety texture which results in a more concentrated and pigmented product and they last longer on the skin. This particular shade, ‘Alluring Rose‘, is a Rose Gold blush marbled with Copper and could well be a love child of a blush and bronzer and this is the spectacular result. If you’re just starting out in the blush department and want to start with something that’s hard to get wrong, I definitely recommend looking into this.

image

Hourglass Ambient Lighting Blush in Radiant Magenta
Another baked beauty worth trying is that of Hourglass’ Ambient Lighting Blushes. Although at £28 a pop, it’s the most expensive blush on this list, it’s also one of the best. The staying power is remarkable and the pay-off is so great, you only have to use a light hand. There are six shades in the range to suit everybody’s complexion and tone however they are very adaptable as I am extremely pale and I have the brightest shade and it still looks stunning on. Next on my list to pick up from the range is ‘Mood Exposure‘. If you’ve tried it, let me know as I’d love to hear your views before I purchase!

image

Stila Convertible Colour Lip & Cheek Stain in Peony
Although this is my newest addition to my collection, I have completely fallen head over heels with it and is quickly becoming my favourite blush ever. I’d been lusting after this gem ever since seeing it on Abigail’s blog (www.blushandnoise.com) in her ‘High Street Haulin’ Post (read it here). My sister kindly took pity on me when she saw me standing in front of the Stila stand staring forlornly at it and bought it for me (thanks Alisha!). The colour is so unique and compliments my fair skin beautifully. It’s a three way colour cross between Peach, Mauve & Pink – see for yourself in all it’s glory in the picture. I cannot wait to get my hands on more shades in the range as it works so well with a stippling brush as it’s a creamy type consistency and this stuff does not budge throughout the day.

image

H&M Pure Velvet Cream Blusher in Cameo Brown
H&M’s Velvet Cream Blushes are very much Stila ‘s Convertible Colour Lip & Cheek Stain cheaper sister. And although it’s not as creamy, it’s still a blush that I reach for regularly because of it’s longevity. This unique colour, Cameo Brown, pairs great with contouring for a darker, more vampy look.

image

The Body shop Fresh Sorbet Blush in Tuscan Grape
If you’re a regular reader of ELR, you’ll have heard me rave (and I mean rave) on about these whimsical blushes (read my full rave-y review here).
Tuscan Grape is the perfect mixture of Pink & Mauve that compliments my Snow White complexion beautifully and is a more pinker toned Stila Peony. Although it contains finely milled (and I mean fine) glitter in it, it shows up on the skin as a natural glow rather than the snowglobe look. I find the best way to use this particular blush because of it’s unique consistency, is to dot some on my cheeks then buff it in with my Real Techniques Blusher Brush – dense synthetic brushes definitely work best.

image

L’Oréal Le Blush in Nectarine
This is the blush that started it all. I’d never been one for blushes before I picked this up on a whim, but when I realised how much of a difference a bit of colour made to my cheeks, I was instantly converted. Although Nectarine is a pretty self explanatory shade name, it doesn’t come up at all orangey on the cheeks. It gives you that healthy, summery looking ‘I’ve been in the sun’ kind-a vibe that we’re all wishing for right now. Definitely one to try to give your skin a bit of a ‘pick me up’.

image

Nars Blush in Orgasm
I couldn’t write this post without lastly, but certainly not least, including the cult favourite that is Nars Orgasm. Although I despise the name, I can see why it’s accumulated a loyal following from so many people. I don’t know what it is about this blush, but I’ve never tried one like it. The colour itself is hard to photograph as sometimes it shows up pink, and other times peach. As it has a warm gold shimmer running throughout, it’s a shade I would definitely not normally pick however when applied to the skin, the shimmer is undetectable and just gives off more of a glow, magic. If you like a good highlight, with this blush you get two for the price of one.

Do you own any of the blushes I have mentioned? What’s your favourite blush? What should be my next purchases?

I’d love to hear your thoughts!

Ciao for now

X

4 thoughts on “Pink to Make the Boys Wink.

Leave a Reply

