The March Favourites

image

Somehow the fourth month is already upon us, and Spring has officially Sprung (although the weather doesn’t seem to have got the memo). This past month has been about discovering some new products and dusting off some old favourites to shake up my makeup for the new season.

image

No matter what season it is, my T-Zone is as oily as ever so a powder is a must in my everyday routine and I’m over the moon that I stumbled across the RCMA No Color Powder. Not only is this a do-it-all powder but it’s the best one I’ve ever tried to fight the battle against the dreaded oil-slick look. If you want the full 411 on this powder, see my full review here.

I’ve been trialing Tarte’s 12 Hour Amazonian Clay Foundation this past month and I must give it to them because I’m not easily impressed. Bravo Tarte! This foundation is perfect for those of you who like me have oily/combination skin and unfortunately tend to have blemish/acne prone skin. Even when you’re having a bad skin day, nobody knows because this makes you look like you’re a fresh faced, spot free woman who has got your life together. I find myself reaching for this when I know I’ve got a long day and I’m 100% confident it will last me until I want to take it off 10, maybe 12 hours later. I’m still waiting for it to fail me, but that day has yet to come.

image

This month I’ve been favouring a more neutral lip than my usual red which you may have already noticed if you follow me on social media. The one I’ve been reaching for most on a daily basis is MAC’s Velvet Teddy. It’s a much more creamy matte formula compared to MAC’S Retro Mattes so keeps the lips moisturised throughout the day. The shade is a lovely pinky nude with a brown undertone – great for fair girls as some nudes tend can make you look washed out (even more than than normal).

If you’re a regular reader of ELR, you’ll know that I love a good brow product. In this month’s Birchbox, much my delight, I received a full size of the Model Co Brow Mascara in Medium/Dark Brown (read the full unboxing here). This is the perfect match for my dark eyebrows, keeps everything in place all day long and doesn’t go crispy. The brush caters for both sparse or bushy brows too as the mascara wand is quite small so you can have a more precise application. Definitely a keeper!

As I was rummaging through my makeup collection for my Spring Beauty Edit (read it here), I rediscovered my old faithful that is the L’OrΓ©al Le Blush in Nectarine. Although it looks scarily brighten in the pan, it translates to the cheeks as a subtle peachy coral – the perfect pop of colour for your cheeks for Spring.

image

This month I’ve been alternating between cult favourite, Stila’s Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Liner and this little gem that I picked up from T K Maxx, the Eyeko Liquid Metal Eyeliner in Black Onyxx. It has a brush type applicator and although you have to have a tissue at hand to wipe off any access, it’s a doddle to use especially when you’re going in for the flick. If you’re a wing lover like me, it’s definitely worth looking into – I am thoroughly impressed.

You know when you meet the one and you just know? Enter Colourpop’s Eyeshadows. Over the past month or so I’ve been able to get my hands on these wonderful products and let me tell you, they are worth the hype. I’ve finally been able to source a reliable supplier in the UK and I can’t wait to share the full details with you all so keep your eyes peeled for an upcoming post.

image

Colour correctors are all the rage at the moment and if you’re on the hunt for something to counteract your dark circles, then the Illamasqua Cream Pigment in Emerge may just be for you. It’s very opaque and has a creamy consistency to it and works absolute wonders under concealer. A little goes a long way so definitely don’t do what I did the first time I tried it and get as much on my finger as I possibly could.

When my skin’s having a tantrum and decides to start creating mountain ranges on my face overnight, the Origins Out of Trouble 10 Minute Mask to Rescue Problem Skin Mask has been my ride or die product. Yes it’s pricey, but it gets the job done and you can’t put a price on that. It leaves the skin feeling smooth and moisturised unlike any other acne/spot masks I have tried before and you can see an instant reduce of redness to any angry spots that are trying to rear their ugly head. If done on a evening, by the time you wake up the next day your spots have dried up and you’re ready to get back on with your life. If you have problem skin, I really can’t recommend this enough.

You may have seen these beauties weedling their way into my photographs recently and I’m so happy I finally decided to purchase them. Not only are these Happy Plugs great sound quality, they look good too. Two birds, one stone – what’s not to like?

I thought I’d start sharing with you in my monthly favourites what I’ve been loving listening to, and this month I’ve had The Lumineers’ new song Ophelia on repeat. If you’re not familiar with them, they came onto the music scene a couple of years ago with their instant hit of ‘Ho Hey’ and I’m so pleased to hear that they’ve not lost their destinctive and unique sound that makes them a pleasure to listen to. Definitely worth a listen if you haven’t already.

I’ve loved Matt Corby ‘s song Brother ever since it came out in 2011 (5 years ago?!), however I’ve recently fallen back in love with it but more specifically an acoustic session I stumbled across on YouTube (watch it here). If you watch one thing today, let it be this. Trust me, you won’t be disappointed.

(Let me know if you like my music/video suggestions and I may make it a regular thing.)

And last, but certainly not least, I’ve been spending a lot of time (and money) this past month on Depop. It’s a great way to find new and used makeup, clothes and everything your heart desires that other users are selling for extremely reasonable prices. If you look hard enough, there are some real bargains to be had!

What have you been loving this past month beauty, music and otherwise? Anything that I should buy, keep an eye out or listen to?

I’d love to hear what you have to say!

See you in my next post.

Ciao for now,

x

image

P.s. Follow me on Bloglovin here.

15 thoughts on “The March Favourites

  1. First of all, I literally LOVE your photography πŸ™‚ Second of all, I’ve been eyeing the RCMA powder since I saw Kathleen Lights talk about it on YouTube – I’m def going to have to give it a shot!

    PS. I nominated you for the Miranda Sings Award on my blog πŸ™‚ It’s my most recent post!

    Life Across The Hudson 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah that just made my day πŸ™Š Thank you so so much Kimberly! πŸ’‹

      DEFINITELY worth picking up, it’s crazy good πŸ’ͺ Thanks SO much for the nomination too, I feel honoured πŸ’ƒ xxx

      P.s. I watch Kathleen Lights too, she’s hilarious isn’t she, I love her πŸ˜‚

      Like

  2. I was away when the RMCA powder came back into stock and when I got back it was out of stock again 😟 darn it. I so need to try this magic powder. I’ve discovered depop too last month lol! I wondered if that’s where the colourpop may be coming from. I love that stuff and really want to try their highlighters and eyeshadows, do I spot Weenie? Depop is lethal in some ways…however I got a CT lippy off there which I really like. Great to try these things to know whether it’s worth paying full price for and I’ve spied Beccas highlighter from Jaclyn Hill on there, I need this in my life!! Brill post πŸ’• Really enjoyed reading it. Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nooooo! I’m sure you’ll be able to get your hands on it soon enough πŸ™Œ It really is lethal, sometimes things are so cheap it would be just rude not to buy them (that’s what I tell myself anyways!). I’m yet to try the highlighters but I can’t rave enough about the eyeshadows. Yes! Well spotted πŸ‘ Thanks so much for reading Emma πŸ’• xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

