The May Favourites

image

May has been full of adventures with friends and has been nothing short of hectic, and the next few months don’t look like they’re going to slow down either. You’ve probably realised I’ve been a bit absent on the blogosphere recently & I always told myself when I started ELR that I would never post anything half heartedly or something that I wasn’t fully happy with. From time to time you just need to take a step back and recharge your batteries. I’ve missed all my beautiful readers and hopefully you can all understand my short blog hiatus.

On another note, it’s Everything’s Looking Rosie‘s 1st Birthday! I can’t quite believe that it’s been 365 days since I clicked publish on my first ever blog post. I’ve learnt a lot about makeup, friends, life and myself in the last year and it’s definitely been one of my favourite so far. Okay, enough of my ramblings and onto why you’re actually here.

image

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ll have already seen these beauties I picked up from Urban Outfitters on a recent jaunt to York. I’d been contemplating buying some cacti for my room but am a serial plant killer (it’s hard enough keeping myself alive) so when I clocked my eyes on these, it was the perfect solution. They’re currently sold out online so if you’re wanting to pick some up for yourself, I suggest trying your local UO as the one I visited had a ton of these in stock.

Now I’ve been on the fence about buying one of the Revlon HD Matte Liquid Lipsticks ever since I heard of their release. The reason being is that I’d heard that they don’t actually dry down matte. Now if you’re a regular reader of ELR, you’ll know that my go-to lipstick formula is matte because ain’t nobody got time to worry about lipstick slipping and sliding all over the place. But as Boots graced me with £2 off Revlon, I thought it would be rude of me to not even try it out. Now firstly, the packinging feels a lot higher end than it’s drugstore rivals and it’s short doe foot applicator could teach some of the high end liquid lipsticks a thing or to. But what I will say is if you’re looking a bulletproof liquid lipstick, then this isn’t for you. As it doesn’t dry down matte it’s not extremely long lasting, but then it doesn’t claim to be. The thing I love most about this formula is that is fades evenly, so you don’t have to worry about patchiness if you don’t have time to reapply. I have the shade Addicted, a beautiful berry colour that is a great alternatice for a red lipstick lover like myself to mix it up a little. Oh and another thing, it smells and tastes amazing (think vanilla sponge).

This past month I’ve not been able to keep my hands off of the Zoeva Cocoa Blend Palette. This is without a doubt one of the best eyeshadow palettes currently on the market and for some reason I haven’t heard enough buzz around it. They’re extremely pigmented, blend like an absolute dream and the longevity of them surprise me every time I wear them. It’s hard to believe that this contains 10 eyeshadows, weighing 1.5 grams each, making them £1.80 each. No, your eyes aren’t deceiving you. Substitute For Love is the perfect orange toned transition shade for blue-eyed gals & Freshly Toasted looks delicious in the crease to give an eye look more depth.

image

The Urban Decay Moondust Eyeshadow in Solstice is a medium-dark copper-brown with warm, red-orange undertones and a bluish-teal duochrome. And yes, it really is as beautifully mesmerising as it sounds. I’d had my eye on it for awhile and it was calling my name on a recent trip to Edinburgh so it would have been rude not to pick it up. Well, that’s what I told myself anyways. What I particularly love about this formula is that you can go for a sheer glimmer, or pack it on for full-on dazzle going from a daytime look straight to cocktails with friends with few sweeps of the finger (for a full on dazzle, it’s best used wet). I’ve had so many compliments when flaunting it on my eyelids and I think a big reason why is it’s so eyecatching is because it’s more a sophisticated sparkle than a chunky glitter. Definitely one to pick up if you’re wanting something a little different to spruce up your eyelids.

Although I’m still getting acquainted with the Marc Jacobs Re(Marc)able Foundation, I am that impressed with it so far that I thought I’d feature in my favourites but you’ll just have to keep your eyes peeled for the full review.

image

I think sometimes when you’re a makeup lover like myself, you sometimes forget how important good skincare and routine is (no, just me?). I’ve come to realise my oily/combination skin prefers a straightforward & uncomplicated regime and as I had just finished a Mario Badescu Cleansing Lotion sample I thought I would try something new. I like to take the majority of my makeup off with wipes and then use a cleanser to get anything that I’ve missed. As I usually do this when I’m in bed just before I go to sleep, I tend to go for cleansers that don’t require you washing them off after. I’d heard nothing but good things about the Simple Kind to Skin Purifying Cleansing Lotion so I decided to try it out for myself. This is a lot gentler than some cleansers I have used in the past which have dried out my skin and it’s taken a while to get it back to normal. With it being a lotion, it’s like a moisturiser and cleanser roles into one. If you’re on the scout for a new cleanser this is definitely one to check out, no matter what skin type you have and it’s currently half price at Superdrug. What are you waiting for?

Birdy burst onto the music scene in 2011 at just 14 with a cover of Bon Iver’s ‘Skinny Love’ and I’ve been completely in love with her addictively haunting voice ever since. Her new album ‘Beautiful Lies’ is an absolute masterpiece and I have had it on repeat ever since it’s release. She’s going on tour in November and I’m over the moon that I’ve finally got the chance to see her live in York. Only 5 months to go.

What have you been loving using/listening to this past month? Looking over the past year, what’s one of the most important things you’ve learnt?

I would love to hear what you have to say in the comments box below.

Ciao for now,

x

image

P.s. Follow me on Bloglovin here.

Leave a Reply

